Gohar Mahal Bhopal – Bequeaths the Explicit Lake View to Travellers


Bhopal, which is nicknamed as city of Lakes, has almost all the tourist places located near them. Attracting plethora of travelers every year, Madhya Pradesh conveys its culture to them. With city of Bhopal as its capital, Madhya Pradesh incredibly spreads warmth and hospitality in tourism. It has number of interesting places to be visited and explored. I was fortunate enough of get the opportunity of rediscovering it. Moving to Gohar Mahal Bhopal provided me the exquisite and pictorial view of the Upper Lake behind which the Mahal is situated. The brilliant mishmash of the Mughal and Hindu architecture defines the place with distinct features. Being named after Gohar Begum, the palace is located behind Shaukat Mahal.

The architectural gem behind the construction of the palace in 1820 was Kudsia Begum. She was the first women to rule Bhopal and ascend the throne in 1819. After her husband’s death she took over the throne and since then Bhopal was in the political power of Begums. You know why am I explaining these things to you? It’s very simple. I want to confront you with our India’s past culture and history. History may sound boring to number of people but exploring the historical places by self is more interesting. So I recommend you to visit the historical sites of India if you really want to discover it intimately.

Gohar Mahal Bhopal

Gohar Mahal Bhopal | Image Resource : en.wikipedia.org

Currently, restoration is going on for the dilapidated building to switch it to Urban Haat. I set aside on a window of the palace to rejoice the explicit and broad view of the Lake, which the city is famous for.

Friends! You would definitely feel life of Begum inside you when you once visit the palace on your own. I was happy enough to get delighted by my unaccompanied journey to Madhya Pradesh. I was tired of wandering such massive places. My legs answered me not to exceed more. I left Gohar Mahal Bhopal in the evening and proceeded back to my hotel to rest and continue the next day. It was Bharat Bhavan Bhopal that I was prepared to go first in the morning.

Leave a Reply

